What I Packed

(a form change poem with thanks to Bobbi Katz for “What Shall I Pack in the Box Marked ‘Summer’?)

 

I packed the taste of the doughnut in Boston,

The sound of the roaring trolls,

Eating chicken soup in Colorado,

Riding bikes with Abigail,

Swimming in clear, blue water,

Golfing with Dad,

Playing Memory with Mom,

Seeing who could jump the highest on the mattress,

Wishing my cousins farewell,

Light saber fighting with Charlie,

Building forts with Charlie,

Playing princess with Alice,

Smacking home runs,

Hearing the barks of the neighbor’s dogs,

Building a Lego treehouse,

The taste of iced tea,

Seeing the baseball fly at me,

Drinking root beer at the Worthy Kitchen,

Seeing the basketball go in the hoop,

The warm, creamy taste of the burritos in Massachusetts,

The scaly feel of the gummy red fish,

The sour taste of the Sour Patch Kids.

Goodbye, summer!

  3 comments for “What I Packed

  1. October 26, 2016 at 6:42 pm

    Your poem just totally gave me a thrill! The way you used your senses brought it alive, like the part about jumping on the mattress and the “warm, creamy taste of the burritos”. Your word choices such as “smacked” and “farewell” also caught my attention. I am SO looking forward to seeing what you will write next!

  2. Vicky Fogg
    October 28, 2016 at 9:09 pm

    Those Boston donuts are good! Did you really go all the way to Colorado to eat chicken soup? 🙂

  3. Alyssa Crane
    October 30, 2016 at 12:38 am

    I loved reading this, buddy! What a fun summer we had. I love our memory games too, but maybe you should let me win sometimes:)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar