Panning for Gold!

If I were alive in 1848, I would have set out for California!  But first I would have packed.  Gallons of water and tons of food.  And don’t forget some long underwear!

I would have traveled by wagon.  I would bring my family so they could set up a food stand, and I could pan for gold.  We would set up a shop because miners would be hungry and need clothes.  Panning was very hard, but it brought us money.

I would build my farm near a river, and I would use a sluice.  Sluices were very helpful because it sifted for you.  When there was no more gold, I would stay and farm.

I would house and feed Chinese merchants so they can get jobs.  Chinese came to pan, but people didn’t want them.  I would be kind and offer jobs to the.

We killed lots of buffalo, but we didn’t use all of the parts.  We also brought diseases to the Indians, but not on purpose.  We invaded the Indians’ territory, but I didn’t want people to do that.

We became the 49ers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar